Download and Read books online PDF, TXT, ePub, PDB, RTF, FB2 & Audio Books files for your device. So, you can read the books in any times.

[804.11 KiB] Levels of the Game books by John McPhee & William Fiennes

Described by Robert Lipsyte as 'the high point of American sports journalism', John McPhee's Levels of the Game, nominally about a tennis match between two of the greats of tennis history, redefined what it meant to be a sports writer.

Written by four-times finalist for the Pulitzer Prize for non-fiction, Levels of the Game is the best tennis book ever written, dealing with human behaviour, race, politics and the divisions of the country, all told through a single game of tennis.

Levels of the Game is a narrative of a tennis match played by Arthur Ashe and Clark Graebner at Forest Hills in 1968, beginning with the ball rising into the air for the initial serve and ending with the final point. In between, McPhee provides a brilliant, stroke-by-stroke description, while examining the backgrounds and attitudes which have molded the players' games.

Arthur Ashe thinks that Clark Graebner, a middle-class white conservative dentist's son from Cleveland, plays stiff and compact Republican tennis. Graebner acknowledges that this is true, and for his part thinks that, because Ashe is black and from Richmond, Ashe's tennis game is bold, loose, liberal, flat-out Democratic, When physical assets are about equal, psychology is paramount to any game.
Levels of the Game
Title:Levels of the Game
Format Type:eBook PDF / e-Pub
Date release:
Size:804.11 KiB
Category:Racket Sports, Books, Sports & Outdoors
  • The Ghost and The Graveyard
  • The Agreement
  • The Island House
  • The Cowboys of Chance Creek Vol 0-2
  • SEAL the Deal
  • The Remingtons (Books 1-3, Boxed Set)
  • The Forgotten Ones
  • The Viscount's Tempting Minx
  • The Guilty
  • The Score
  • The Return
  • Stolen Kisses from the Viscount: A Stolen Kisses Novella
  • The Crossing
  • Don't Let Go (The Invisibles)
  • The Sometime Bride
  • Dragon Heartbeats The Box Set: Books 1-6
  • Don't Let Go
  • The Debt Collector
  • The Sheriff Catches a Bride
  • Don't Tie the Knot
  • Elfin, Book 1 The Elfin Series
  • Wedding of the Century (Marry Me contemporary romance series, Book 1)
  • Charmed by the Bartender
  • Blood in the Bayou
  • Her Heart for the Asking
  • Four: The Son
  • The Boss's Son
  • The Boyfriend Experience
  • The Bad Boy Next Door
  • The Sexy One
  • The Play Mate
  • Pete the Cat's Train Trip
  • The Romance Dance
  • Counting the Days
  • Untouched
  • Once Upon a Summer (Seasons of the Heart Book #1)
  • Airel: The Awakening
  • Sweet Little Thing
  • Choices of the Heart: A Christian Romance Novella
  • The Watchmaker's Daughter
  • The Proposition
  • The Way You Look Tonight
  • Hot Off the Press
  • The Zebra Who Thinks That He Is the Best
  • Ring Around the Rosie
  • The Rancher and the Runaway Bride Part 1
  • Lightning Thief, The (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Book 1)